Wednesday, May 25, 2011


Many people consider Buddhism more as a philosophy or a "way to live". But it is considered one of the World Religions. The definition is up to each of us.

The Noble Eightfold Path

1. Right understanding

2. Right thought

3. Right speech

4. Right action

5. Right livelihood

6. Right effort

7. Right mindfulness

8. Right concentration

The Ethics or the Five Precepts

1. To refrain from killing living creatures

2. To refrain from stealing

3. To refrain from sexual misconduct

4. To refrain from lying

5. To refrain from taking intoxicants


Karma can, rather simplified, be described as that our conscious actions will result in an effect. This does not involve unconscious acts though. Karma means action or deed in sanskrit and involves that unselfish good deeds results in good karma, but selfish, "evil" deeds results in bad karma. "What you do is what you get" or Tham dii, dai dii - Tham chua, dai chua in Thai.

No comments:

Post a Comment